Theatre in Wales

Amateur theatre and drama groups in Wales


placeholder graphic

West Glamorgan Youth Theatre Company

web site
artistic policy Since its inception in 1975, under the leadership of Founder Director Godfrey Evans, the West Glamorgan Youth Theatre Company has built an enviable reputation as one of the premier Youth Companies in the Principality. The Company has performed extensively within the West Glamorgan area and has undertaken national and international tours having visited Denmark on two occasions.

Past members of the Youth Theatre have gone on to win Olivier and BAFTA awards, and many can be seen on television, in West End Musicals and with the larger national theatre companies. However, the Youth Theatre has never been seen merely as a training ground for the theatre, as many students have progressed to a wide range of different, equally successful careers. Whatever their profession, all former Company members look back on their time with the Youth Theatre as being an exciting and vital part of their education.

Following the retirement of Godfrey Evans in 1992, the Youth Theatre was directed for eight years by Derek Cobley and in September 2000, the development of the Company was entrusted to an Artistic Directorate. The Directorate is currently comprised of eleven Youth Theatre tutors who have a wealth of experience within arts education, the theatre profession, and in the direction of performance projects; each of whom is committed to maintaining the high standards which have characterised the work of the West Glamorgan Youth Theatre Company.

Such is the high regard in which the work of the Youth Theatre is held, that after local government reorganisation in 1996, the City and County of Swansea and Neath Port Talbot County Borough Council took the far sighted decision to continue facilitating the work of this nationally renowned Company, thereby enabling young people of ability and enthusiasm in all aspects of theatre arts, to work together under the guidance of specialist tutors in a residential setting to create high quality theatre projects.

Having last summer performed Electra in the beautiful setting of Margam Park, as well as staging the company's 75th performance project, Marx Soup, this winter the company returnd to the Taliesin Theatre, with a production of The Government Inspector.

The Artistic Directorate

Meleri Cole, Denise Cavalli, Nick Evans, Adrian Hocking,

Yvonne Hudd, Jeff Lewis, Kevin Matherick, Simon Pirotte,

Mary Pugh, John Quirk and Ruth Williams.




Privacy Policy | Contact Us | ©2006 keith morris / red snapperr web deisgns /